First day of daylight savings

So, it is the first day of Daylight savings. Yuck. I don’t know ANYBODY that likes daylight savings.  And of course, it’s been a rainy, gloomy day.

I live in Virginia. I work for a large corporation. I am a white female, raised mostly in the U.S.A.

I’m also a photographer. I do mostly landscapes, and particularly of my beautiful home state. My family moved to Virginia when I was nine years old and I have lived here ever since. Over the years I have come to appreciate how beautiful Virginia is. The seasons, especially spring and fall, are just breathtaking. I used to be one of those people who rushed through life scarcely noticing the changing seasons, and the beauty of nature.

Photography changed all of that. I became a documenter of people, places, events when I was around 21 years old. I had a relationship and lived with a man who had a whole trunk full of old family photos. One day we started going through them, and I would ask him, “who is this?” and he would often say he didn’t know. None of them were marked with a date or anything. All of these people, usually dressed up for whatever occasions, standing there posing and smiling for the camera. Yet, after a generation or two, no one knew who they were anymore.

So I guess that’s how it started. I like to preserve memories. Photos are a moment in time, frozen.

I also enjoy politics (but not overboard about it), observing people, current events, travel, adventure…I want Anthony Bourdain’s job! That would be my dream job.

Leave a Reply

